Essentials of Physics Explained by its Most Brilliant Teacher


Richard P. Feynman,

with Robert B. Leighton and Matthew Sands


Now Offered as iBooks textbook for iPad


NEW YORK — October 23, 2012 — Today, Basic Books and California Institute of Technology (Caltech) are proud to announce the release of the iBooks textbooks edition of Richard P. Feynman’s SIX EASY PIECES now available for the first time on the iBookstore for iPad.


From 1961 to 1963, Richard Feynman delivered a series of lectures at the California Institute of Technology that revolutionized the teaching of physics around the world. The result was the Feynman Lectures on Physics, first published in 1965, and continuously in print ever since. SIX EASY PIECES, taken from these famous Lectures on Physics, includes the most approachable material from the series.


In these classic lessons, Feynman introduces readers to atoms, basic physics, energy, gravitation, quantum behavior and the relationship of physics to other sciences. With his dazzling and inimitable wit, Feynman presents each discussion with his singular cadence and vigor. Thanks to the power of the iPad and iBooks Author, his presentation is accompanied with wonderful animations and illustrations of physics as well as extensive pictures and audio recordings from the lectures. The effect is to transport readers to the Caltech lecture hall when the lectures occurred, to experience Feynman’s passion for physics first hand—a passion so grand that he expressed it through poetry, music and painting. All of it is available to the public for the first time today.


Download SIX EASY PIECES: Essentials of Physics from the iBookstore for $14.99 on iPad or at


First published in 1963, THE FEYNMAN LECTURES ON PHYSICS is a recognized classic in the field. Continuously in print since the original publication, the lectures have been translated into at least a dozen languages, with more than 1.5 million copies printed in the English language alone. The latest, extensively corrected edition, the New Millennium Edition, was published by Basic Books in 2011.




Richard P. Feynman was a professor of physics at Caltech from 1951 to 1988. In 1965 he shared a Nobel Prize in Physics for his work on the development of quantum electrodynamics. Through his popular books and public activities, Feynman has become one of the most beloved figures of the twentieth century. Besides being a physicist, he was at various times a repairer of radios, a picker of locks, an artist, a dancer, a bongo player, and even a decipherer of Mayan Hieroglyphics. Perpetually curious about the world, he was an exemplary empiricist.


Robert B. Leighton was a physicist and astronomer, an esteemed teacher and textbook author, and professor at Caltech for many years.


Matthew Sands has been a professor at Caltech, deputy director of the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, and vice chancellor for science at the University of California, Santa Cruz. Sands spearheaded reforms in the Caltech undergraduate physics program that created The Feynman Lectures on Physics.



SIX EASY PIECES: Essentials of Physics Explained by its Most Brilliant Teacher

By Richard P. Feynman with Robert B. Leighton and Matthew Sands

Published by Basic Books

Publication date: October 23, 2012

ISBN: 978-0-465-03114-6

$14.99  · Enhanced Ebook  ·  Illustrations, animations, and audio throughout  and



For additional information about SIX EASY PIECES

and other titles by Richard P. Feynman, visit us on the web at and, or follow us on Twitter at @BasicBooks.


For more about Caltech visit